Wimbledon

For me, one of the disappointments of being in the US, and in Colorado particularly is that I’m missing out on watching Wimbledon (never mind the Soccer World Cup, although that has become decidedly less interesting since Australia’s exit). Yesterday, I missed Amelie Mauresmo’s victory over Justine Henin-Hardine (which I really would have liked to have seen), and right now I’m missing a close match between Roger Federer and Rafeal Nadal (I wish I could find it in my heart to like Nadal a little more than I do).

For as long as I can remember, my family has followed grand slam tennis quite closely. I remember my dad listening to Pat Cash play in the finals in Wimbledon over the radio in the middle of the night. More recently, I remember getting up very early in the morning to watch the conclusions of close, important matches. Somehow, the coverage in the US is much worse, and without the interest of people surrounding me, the games don’t seem quite so important. Still, I’ve got the online live score window open on my computer desktop, and I’m following the progress of the Men’s Final. (Just as an aside: when did Todd Woodbridge and Mark Woodforde decide to team up again?).

Leave a Reply

