Dinner with Friends, Apples to Apples, and Homemade Brownies

Dinner this evening at Kendra and David’s house, together with lots and lots of people I haven’t seen for quite some time (and Daisy the puppy). We had pizza with pumpkin, goat’s cheese, and caramelized onions (such a delicious combination!), and brownies and watermelon for dessert. Yum! After eating we played Apples to Apples, which I won two times out of three (hooray! – although I’m sure a lot of it is luck of the draw). Apples to Apples is growing on me. The first time I played it I thought it was a horribly Americanized game – and it is quite Americanized – but I’ve started to feel that that doesn’t necessarily mean it can’t be fun (although it’s possible that I’ve decided that it’s fun because I’ve started winning).

I made some of the Chocolate Brownies that we had for dessert – I used Donna Hay’s recipe in The New Cook. I’m a huge Donna Hay fan, and I don’t really like the brownies you get from a box. In my opinion, they have to be made from scratch, with real chocolate. Donna’s recipe worked out reasonably well (I added pecans), although I suspect it would have been even better if I’d pulled it out of the oven a touch earlier – the center wasn’t quite gooey enough for my taste.

Leave a Reply

