The Departed

On Saturday evening I went with Solar to see Martin Scorcese’s new film, The Departed. While I’d read good reviews, I was concerned that it was going to be too suspenseful for my liking (not really a fan of suspense of horror, I’m afraid). I can report that while there’s plenty of blood and shooting, there’s not really a horror element to it, or any suspense. What a relief!

The film is set in Boston, which was cool. There’s something very satisfying about seeing your city on the big screen, and realizing that there really some things about it that are iconic. The film itself is excellent – I really enjoyed it. You have to be prepared for a fair amount of shooting (without giving too much away, there’s barely anyone left alive by the end of the film), but the film (despite its length) is fast-paced, with plenty of twists and interest.

Leave a Reply

