Halloween Cakes

I’m not really a fan of Halloween (really, I have not inclination to dress up in fishnet stockings and not much else), but I could become enthusiastic about Halloween baking. Check out these crawly cakes that Megan made! Books that I think would be useful for this:

Kids’ Birthday Cakes, from the Australian Womens’ Weekly. This book was a staple of my childhood. My siblings and I would pick out our cakes months in advance, and my mother (bless her heart) would make them. The book looks like it’s been updated since I was a child, but it was a solid book back then, and I’m sure that’s still true now.

Hey There, Cupcake, but Clare Crespo. I haven’t seen this book, but I’ve bought one of Clare Crespo’s other books (Fun with Food), and it’s excellent. I think this one might be a little better suited to the whole Halloween baking gig, though. Perhaps I’ll look out for it.

Party Animal Cakes, by Lindy Smith. Again, I haven’t actually seen this book, but the cakes are too cute for words!

Leave a Reply

