Interweave Knits Winter 2006

I finally broke down and subscribed to Interweave Knits. I bought the last few issues from the newstand, and I’ve been really impressed. It seemed like buying Interweave Knits was going to become a regular thing, so subscribing seemed like the sensible thing to do: cheaper and (bonus!) I now receive the issues before they hit the newstands.

I received my issued of the Winter 2006 Interweave Knits magazine on Thursday evening (what a nice thing to come home to), and I wasn’t disappointed. The magazine is full of beautiful designs. My favorites?

The Venezia Pullover (by the ever-talented Eunny Jang) Could this be my first steeking attempt?

The Pewter Coat

The Nantucket Jacket (on the front cover, and designed by Norah Gaughan)

Thrummed Mittens. I’m generally unconvinced my the powers of handknits against Boston’s winter weather, but these may just make the grade.

Artic Diamonds Stole. Just beautiful.

Wine and Rose Mitts

There’s also an article on steeking (v. helpful is one is going to take on their first steeking project) and an aricle on knitting with musk ox fiber (written by the editor of Wild Fibers magazine). I’m not sure I want to knit with musk ox fiber, but it was the first time I’d come across the musk ox (which is found in artic environments). Check out the horns on this animal:

They go all the way to the middle of the head, and look like a fake hair piece!

5 thoughts on “Interweave Knits Winter 2006

  1. down with IK!! i was upset to find out that subscribers did not get the holiday issue :( so i decided to boycott….*sheepish grin*….but i love this month’s issue. i hate that. thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Katie says:

    I was a little disappointed not to get the Holiday issue, too, but when I checked it out in the bookstore there wasn’t anything in there that I desperately wanted to knit, so I don’t feel too cheated. :-)

  3. lolarusa says:

    I really liked the Venezia pullover, too. But I just don’t know. To steek or not to steek. It just don’t seem right.

Leave a Reply

