Yarn for Icarus

I’m sure it’s obvious, but I’m on a bit of a lace knitting binge at the moment. I feel like lace knitting (and any small needle knitting, it it comes to that) is real value for money. Plus, I enjoy it. Most recently, I bought some yarn for the Icarus Shawl featured in the Summer 2006 issue of Interweave Knits. The pattern’s by the most talented Miriam Felton. She’s also selling copies of the pattern on her web site.

The yarn is Suri Elegance (in Cordovan) which I bought from Alpaca Yarn company (this is the yarn recommended in the pattern). It’s beautifully soft, with a lovely, rich color. The thing that I’m most excited about in this shawl, though, is the curvilinear effect in the edging. It’s not particularly obvious in the magazine pictures, and I’m not sure it will be obvious with this particular yarn (although I’ll know it’s there, which is really all that counts). It’s pretty clear in some of Miriam’s photos, though. I love it when something as simple as knitting produces something as striking as this.

Edited to add (6 Dec 2006): Miriam has some errata posted on her weblog.

Cross-posted on Icarus Shawl KAL.

4 thoughts on “Yarn for Icarus

  1. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I too spend more time looking at sock yarn than I do knitting socks. At this rate we’ll have to buy a bigger house!

    I love the yarn color for your Icarus. I think it’s such a beautiful pattern!

    Stitchywitch

  2. Oops! I totally responded to the wrong comment here – my mistake! Now I see that you were commenting about the rubber tree. I’m glad to know that someone else has a vendetta against rubber trees. It’s nice that I’m not alone.

  3. Thanks for the links Katie! I’m glad you like the pattern too. I LOVE it. When I was blocking the first one I kept wandering back into the room where it was pinned out and just staring at it. :D

Leave a Reply

