Finished Socks

While I was in Australia I finished my Universal socks.

I learned quite a few things when I was knitting these:

  • I used a crochet cast-on* for the first time. I’m a huge fan of this.
  • I used Socks that Rock for the first time, and was pleasantly surprised. There does seem to be a bit of striping, but I think its striping of the most agreeable kind. I also really, really like the vibrancy of the colors.
  • I tried a picot-edge bind-off. This was something of a mistake. In the future I’ll work rib on smaller needles for an inch or two, and then bind off.
  • These were my first toe-up, short row socks. I’m a fan.
  • It’s not necessarily a good idea to let people with feet larger than yours try on socks that you’re making for yourself. It does make the socks a little loose the first time you wear them. Still, it goes a long way in convincing people of the benefits of handmade socks.

I wore my socks for the first time on my trip from Perth to Boston. They performed very well, keeping my feet really warm (I have a tendency to get cold when I’m traveling on airplanes), and I had no embarrassment when I had to take of my shoes to go through airport security screening. They were lovely and comfortable, too.

There is a small hole at the apex of the short row heel (it’s more pronounced on one side than the other). I didn’t do anything the try and prevent this, and the more I look at and wear the socks, the less I care about it.

* The instructions from knitty.com for a crochet cast-on are as follows:

Using waste yarn, work a crochet chain several sts longer than the number of sts to be cast on. Starting 1 or 2 sts in from end of chain and using working yarn, pick up and k 1 st in the back loop of each st until the required number of sts have been worked. Later, the chain will be unraveled and the resulting live sts picked up.

One thought on “Finished Socks

  1. shaili says:

    what pretty socks! i like the colorway a lot and it’s amazing how the pattern changes how the colors appear… it’s the same colorway as lolo’s RPM socks… i really want to try the toe up short row socks next! i also want to buy more STR sock yarn… must not buy more yarn!

Leave a Reply

