The Partly Cloudy Patriot

I’ve been a huge fan of Sarah Vowell‘s stories on This American Life for quite a while. I even went to hear Vowell read from Assassination Vacation at MIT once. Sarah Vowell was great, but the event was decidedly weird, as is the case for many things at MIT. When I saw some of Vowell’s books on the bargian book table at my book store (a sign of a good book store is that you refer to it as your own) I snapped them up in a flash.

The Partly Cloudy Patriot

I’d already heard some of the stories in The Partly Cloudy Patriot read on NPR (I’m a This American Life geek), but for the most part the stories were new, and I found the stories that I had already heard just as enjoyable the second time around. I really enjoy Vowell’s insight and wit, and the fact that she’s a bleeding heart liberal doesn’t hurt either.

Cross-posted on All Consuming.

One thought on “The Partly Cloudy Patriot

  1. “Assassination Vacation” was a wonderful read. I especially liked the conversations she had with the various tour guides and curators; she had a great amount of respect for these people that have taken up a passion for that one special thing or place in history.

Leave a Reply

