The Week In Review

It’s been a funny kind of week. My first full week back after being in Australia, and, yet, I spent only three days in the office or lab. Monday was a public holiday (Martin Luther King Day), and I spent yesterday in Connecticut for work. Despite not so much time actually at work, the working week was exhausting!

I spent Saturday evening at Steve and Iva’s place, part of a farewell gathering for them. They’re in Washington, DC now. Their departure seemed remarkably rapid to me, but I could just have been out of the loop. The party was nice though. There were quite a few people there that I hadn’t seen in a while, and it was good to see Steve and Iva before they left town.

On Sunday night Jason called me just as I was thinking about dinner. We met up for dinner at Punjabi Dhaba, and fortuitously ran into Tomas and Rob there. I haven’t seen them in ages, although it turns out that they now live quite close to me. Perhaps I’ll run into them more often now that I know they’re nearby? They’re getting ready to move to San Francisco in June. I’m reasonably jealous. After dinner Jason and I headed to 1369 where we drank tea and read. It was a good way to spend the evening.

On Tuesday I had lunch with Lloyd, Parisse, and their children at Casablanca (which I’d never eated at, despite walking past it reguarly for the past 4 and a half years). Lloyd did his PhD in environmental engineering at MIT 25 or so years ago, and was back in America catching up with his friends from that time, and showing his family around America. Lloyd and Parisse are friends of my aunt and uncle (I’d never met them before), and it was fun to hear about their travels in America, and to give them a tour of Harvard.

This past week proved to be the week of lunch with visiting Australians – I also had lunch with my cousin Tom and his friend Tim, who were in Boston for a few days before heading to Vermont to ski. We went to an Indian buffet for lunch (Tom’s a huge fan of Indian food), and I dragged along Ben, who I had spent the morning doing experiments with. Although I’d seen Tom while I was in Perth is was nice to have the opportunity to catch up with him with less family around (don’t get me wrong, I love my family, it’s just that when you see them all at once it’s a bit of a mob situation).

Knitting group was fun this week, with one new attendee. I even learned a new way to knit a scarf this week. I need to think about it for a bit and see if I can work it into something. It’s very easy and looks great. Of course, I don’t really know what the stitch is called. I think I’ll have to do a bit of internet research and see if I can find out its official name.

Leave a Reply

