Finished Wine and Roses Mitt


I’d really like to finish my Wine and Roses Mitts before the winter is out, so last weekend I sat down and worked on them. I’ve finished the first one, and have cast on for the second. It was lovely to try on the first mitt – it’s beautifully soft. I have quite small hands (I’m yet to find an adult with smaller hands than me), so I was worried about it being too big on my hand, but there’s not a problem – the mitt just sat on my hand beautifully.

I really like the lace pattern in the mitts. It’s elegant, and a little bit “vintage”. A word of advice: when the pattern asks you to bind off loosely, it really means it. I suspect you can’t be too loose.

7 thoughts on “Finished Wine and Roses Mitt

  1. shaili says:

    I like the color a lot! Did you have to wind it by hand instead of by swift + ball winder? I saw someone at Woolcott wearing these and the lace pattern looked so nice. Does the yarn pill somewhat? I’m wondering how delicate they are…

  2. Katie says:

    I did wind it by hand. I haven’t noticed any pilling yet – but I’ve only finished one, and I haven’t really worn them yet. :-) You’re welcome to try them on sometime if you want to try them out. I think you could also make them with some kind of fine sock yarn, too.

  3. Katie says:

    It’s Jade Sapphire 2-ply cashmere (the recommended yarn) in plum. I wish they were finished. Sadly, only one is done. The second isn’t far from completion, though.

  4. Katie says:

    Actually, I’ve finished my pair! (I just haven’t written about it yet). Stay tuned. :-) I’m sorry you’re cold, though. It’s miserable weather out.

Leave a Reply

