Sew…

I bought a sewing machine. I did some extensive research, and it really seemed like the Janome Jem was pretty much the perfect beginner machine. It arrived last night. It is pretty much perfect. It’s astoundingly light (I can pick it up with one hand), and it’s a lot more solid looking and feeling than I had imagined it would be. A bit has been made of the fact that it has no stitch length setting – you just pick one of three from the stitch selector – but this is fine with me. It took me no time at all to get it threaded and set up (bobbin included) – it’s almost exactly the same system as my mother’s Bernina – and I was off! I shortened my new pair of jeans. No problems sewing through three layers of denim, although I did slow down at the seams (where I was sewing through six layers of denim). I’m not sure I needed to though. I’m still getting used to the location of the presser-foot lever, but other than that, I’m very happy with it. It’s everything I need, and nothing I don’t.

One of the more fun things I get to count as “work” is organizing craft classes. Last week I organized a class where we all learned how to make balloon animals. (I didn’t teach the class – I just organized it!). In any case, we all mastered the balloon dog, and I also made a balloon swan, but I’m not sure I could repeat the trick (dogs, I can – I made a lot of them). We had some families with young children show up, which helped make the class a lot of fun (I think we would have had fun regardless, though). What really amazed me was just how robust the balloons were. We ordered these fantastic Q260 balloons from T. Myers Magic, and the instructor bought a bunch of pumps with her (which we really needed – those balloons would have been tough to blow up without them!).

2 thoughts on “Sew…

Leave a Reply

