Pleased to Meet You

Ever since I heard Getting Away With It (All Messed Up), I’ve been wanting to pick up JamesPleased to Meet You.


Pleased to Meet You

Given that Pleased to Meet You was released in 2001, it’s a little embarrassing that it has taken this long for me to get my hands on it, but better late than never. It is currently their most recent release, though. So you can’t accuse me of being so far behind the times! I’ve been listening to Pleased To Meet You on and off for most of today, and I’ve been enjoying it. I think my favorite tracks are Space, Senorita, and Getting Away With It (All Messed Up). I can imagine playing it at dinner parties, and the like.

Getting Away With It (All Messed Up)

An indie band from Manchester, James is probably most famous (at least in the US and Australia) for Laid, which makes me think I should look out for a copy of their greatest hits album, The Best Of

Laid

Although James unofficially disbanded shortly after Pleased to Meet You was released, they’ve recently regrouped, although they don’t list any US touring dates yet. Still, I’ll keep my eye out, both for a local concert, and for a new album.

2 thoughts on “Pleased to Meet You

  1. Katie, I don’t listen to much except country – never have – but if I get time later, I’ll play this video. (Takes so long on the laptop when you’re up on this hill).
    I love those baby slippers you made. You’re pretty talented.

  2. Thank you – although you shouldn’t feel obliged to listen to the music. It’s definitely not country. :-)

    I don’t listen to much country myself, by have been enjoying The Waifs, an Australian group that plays something in between folk and alt-country music…

Leave a Reply

