California

After an uneventful (ie. without swimming) row yesterday morning, I dashed into work for a brief appearance before flying out to California for the weekend (I’m sort of making a long weekend of it, taking Friday and Monday off work). The "official" excuse for this trip is Jesse & Sasha’s wedding (which I’m very much looking forward to), but the truth is that I don’t need much of an excuse to book a trip to California. I’m also catching up with friends from IBM days, going hiking, seeing Laura, and meeting up with Aimée, who I haven’t seen since high school science camp (which was just as dorky as it sounds).

The flight (Spirit Airlines) was fine, although the part of Logan Airport I was in was a mess, with flights to, from, and through Pennsylvania being delayed and cancelled with serious thunderstorms. I flew into San Francisco, picked up a rental car (Fox gave me a PT Cruiser. I’m not sure how I feel about this), and drove out to Geoff’s place in Mountain View. I was greeted by both Geoff and Jonathan (who has moved back into his old room Geoff’s house), and it was really nice to see them. We chatted, I crashed and fell asleep with the light on, and then I had breakfast this morning with Jonathan (who made some excellent oatmeal/porridge, completely different from the stuff I usually make myself) and caught up with Geoff. Geoff’s an excellent host – it’s always a pleasure to stay with him when I’m in California.

The weather here is gorgeous (providing further proof to my theory that the weather is California is always better than the weather in Boston), and there’s something about the sunlight here that, for me, is magical (maybe just because it is similar to the sunlight in Western Australia). In fact, once I’d been in Boston for a couple of years and came out to California for a week, I suddenly understood why all of the north-east of America thinks that California is fake: it’s because you can’t believe that such good weather and lighting can be for real.

On the agenda for today? Perhaps a swim in Campbell (although, as much as I’m dying to swim outside, I’m a little wary of swimming outside in the middle of the day, and it’s a well documented fact that I’m hopeless at actually making to any form of exercise without the motivation of someone meeting me there), and then lunch with Liesl and Jordan (and perhaps some other former IBMers) at Hitachi. This evening there is a plan for beer and then pizza at Liesl’s house – hopefully this means I’ll get to meet Anna.

4 thoughts on “California

  1. Have a lovely extended weekend!
    I wish I could do that too, but it’s a bit of a trek from the UK, and I’d never get rid of the jet-lag by Tuesday morning.
    I miss LA though.

  2. I didn’t know that you’d spent time/lived in LA. I’m more of a Bay Area girl, myself, but every time I come here I find myself wondering why I didn’t go to UCSB for my PhD (there are very good reasons, but I have trouble remembering them sometimes!).

  3. What a great vacation! I would love to live somewhere in California where I could wear flip flops at least 10 months of the year. Trouble is – a trillion gazillion people would already be living there. Have a great trip – and take pictures.

  4. I have friends in LA and I’ve been three times, just for a holiday though. I don’t know what it is, but I just really like it. I’ve put my favourite photos over at Flickr. The last trip incorporated a few days in NYC at the start. I HAVE to go there again one day. :)

    I’m hoping to incorporate San Francicso into my next trip, with a drive down the PCH and a week in LA at the end. That would be fab.

    Wow…A Phd. You brainy thing you! ;) I’m guessing something sciency based on some of the posts I’ve seen from you.

Leave a Reply

