Shepard Fairey at the ICA Boston

29 Mar

Jesse was in Boston yesterday, and, after some inexcusable forgetting and oversleeping on my part, we headed to Flour bakery for brunch. I’m the first to admit that Flour doesn’t provide a particularly tradition brunch, but their food is just so good, and the place becomes more and more zoo-like as the day wears on. In any case, I had a delicious roast lamb sandwich and piece of berry bread pudding. Yum!

Knitted graffiti spotted in front of Flour Bakery

Knitted graffiti spotted in front of Flour Bakery

After we’d finished eating we both had the afternoon free so we walked along the silver line route to the Institute of Contemporary Art. After admiring the building’s architecture we headed inside (where I discovered that Harvard has recently purchased institution membership to the museum, so free entry for me), and checked out the Shepard Fairey exhibit.

Shepard Fairey is perhaps most famous for the Obama campaign posters he created, and is one of the best known and most influentual street artists.

Shepard Fairey is perhaps most famous for the Obama campaign posters he created, and is one of the best known and most influentual street artists.

I really enjoyed the Fairey exhibit. I’m afraid that I’m probably a little lowbrow. I like contemporary art best when it’s fun and humorous. I tend to struggle with it when it’s overly serious.

2 Responses to “Shepard Fairey at the ICA Boston”

  1. Marianne 29 March 2009 at 10:30 am #

    I really enjoyed that exhibit. I thought the ICA did a great job.

    • Katie 29 March 2009 at 2:40 pm #

      I thought the ICA did a great job, too – and I saw the exhibit in reverse! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

