Spring in Cambridge

Spring has finally arrived in Cambridge, and I can’t tell you what a relief it is. We’re having the most glorious weekend of weather, and I’ve been soaking up the sun and the warmth. I had brunch with Zeba yesterday at the Neighborhood Restaurant, and it was just fantastic. The 15 minutes walk there was glorious, and they’ve opened up their patio seating so we sat outside and enjoyed the near-perfect day. This improved weather has me thinking of all the things I want to do (that are totally not thesis related) in my last summer in Boston. Some of them require a bit of forward planning, so I feel like making a list probably isn’t a bad idea.

  • Swim at Walden Pond. It would be nice if I could manage this more than once. It does involve getting organized and renting a car, or co-ordinating with someone who owns a car.
  • Catch a ball game at Fenway Park. This weekend’s series between the Sox and the Yankees would have been perfect. Needless to say, it’s completely sold out, and tickets are not easy (or cheap) to come by.
  • Read The New Yorker on the back deck. I could easily check this one off today.
  • Scull on the Charles.
  • Make ice-cream. And eat ice cream.
  • Shakespeare on the Commons. I’m not actually a huge fan of Shakespeare (particularly outside) but I love the pre-play picnic.
  • Eat outside.
  • Catch some live music. I recently bought tickets to see The Shins, so I’m on the way to taking care of this.
  • Shop at farmers’ markets.

Anything obvious I’m missing?

3 thoughts on “Spring in Cambridge

  1. Jonathan Ruel says:

    Katie and I have meant to go to Walden pond and are totally into renting cars, so you should count us in!

Leave a Reply

