Getting Serious

Last week was the week of a major (although not particularly profound) revelation: this is thesis isn’t going to write itself.

thesiscartoonFollowed by this revelation was a cancellation/reorganziation of all sorts of things: the poster I was supposed to make this week (I’m not particularly sad to see that one go), the trip to England (I’m very sad to see that one go), a handing off of lab jobs, a scaling back of my social life in general.

I thought that focusing my life onto my thesis would make me miserable, but it’s actually had the opposite effect: it’s removed a huge amount of stress. Right now, I know that I’m working as hard as I can to do as much as I can, and I really can’t do more than that. It helps that I’m enjoying my work right now, of course, and there’s something very satisfying about getting to the end of a day and knowing I’ve done as much as I can towards getting this thesis finished. That isn’t to say that I won’t be incredibly happy when it’s finally done, though…

2 thoughts on “Getting Serious

  1. besides the fact that I’ll be distracting you from your thesis in a couple of weeks time.. here’s my cheer: You can do it!!! GO KATIE GO!!!

Leave a Reply

