The Best of Gretta Anna

Best of Gretta Anna with Martin TeplitzkyWhen I was growing up, the Gretta Anna cookbooks were the height of sophistication. The Best of Gretta Anna with Martin Teplitzky is a selection of recipes from her two earlier books, as well as some new recipes and a selections of recipes from her son, Martin Teplitzky. Each recipe is preceded with a short story from either Martin or Gretta Anna (and sometimes both), and instructions are clear. Not all recipes are photographed, but the photographs that are included are both clear and artful. The recipes I have made have all turned out well.

Prawns in Garlic Anchovy Sauce

I didn’t quite make this is as written. I made the garlic anchovy butter sauce, and then cooked the prawns in it. I served it over rice, and with beans, and it was delicious. There is a lot of butter in the recipe. Probably half as much would be just as good.

Tagliatelle with Ricotta, Pancetta & Peas

I made this recipe on a weeknight, and it was quick and tasted good. I used frozen spinach.

Lemon & Garlic Chicken

Not my favourite roast chicken recipe ever, but certainly not the worst either.  Relatively low-effort.

Rol’s Lemon & Sugar Cake

Recipe available online.

I don’t have a food processor, so I worked the butter through the dry ingredients by hand, and then mixed in the wet ingredients using a stand mixer. This is a simple, but good, cake. Ideal for afternoon tea.

Rol’s Apple Pecan Cinnamon Cake

Because I don’t have a food processor, I used the stand mixer to mix everything together. I think it would have been better if I had first worked the butter through the dry ingredients by hand as I did for the Lemon & Sugar Cake. The batter I ended up with was quite thick and sticky, and quite difficult to spread over the cake tin, especially after the middle layer of apple, pecans, and cinnamon. That said, the resulting cake was excellent.

Leave a Reply

